Unsafe in the City

Today I went round to sites where I know rough sleeper go throughout the day and during the night to photograph the landscape. However, I saw three rough sleepers today, one of which was Jay. I spoke to him and he said that he couldn’t talk, he had just been threatened and he was feeling very paranoid. I think the fact I was holding my camera didn’t ease him so I decided to leave him be and I walked on. With the three I saw, I photographed them from a distance, kind of like a peeping Tom.

This has made me think about how unsafe they are. ‘Unsafe in the City’ which is essentially their home. Thinking about the target audience of this piece of work, seeing homeless photography is very common; Steve Pyke, Annie Leibowitz for example have both worked in this area. So, I feel that perhaps a news article or photo essay would be more ideal as opposed to presenting them as my art. I feel this would be better because I have a huge sense of guilt in using their vulnerability for my advantage.

 

 

Leave a Reply

