It’s all about trust

Although I’ve only spoken to one rough sleeper in Coventry briefly, I really have to think about my approach.

 

I have to be their friend, not judge them, but let them tell their story. It’s difficult to ask someone psychologically vulnerable to reveal their life.

I have recently written an essay about portraiture and I concluded that to reveal the sitter honestly, a photographer must gain trust, respect and their story in order to capture something more than just ‘a picture’.

I would like to ask open questions. The obvious such as how long they have been homeless. But I would like to gain the trust for them to show me where they live and the possessions the carry. What their story is. I hope the rough sleepers organisation reaches me this week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

