Studio Lighting

I wanted to try and recreate the effect that one light source has- I put a snoot on one of the flashes in the studio, replacing the soft box. This narrows the light to make a small light source, therefore harsh shadows are created. I wanted to reproduce how light comes through a small opening, like curtains. I am happy with the results, however, next time I would use black card over the snoot to create more of a slit as opposed to a circle of light, like a spotlight.

Because my images are very grainy; I would like to use other lighting techniques on location, probably with the use of flashguns to add to the light so that grain is reduced; I would like to see whether this would give  nice effect, or whether the grain is reminiscent of how our eyes see light; in the morning when our eyes can’t quite see things properly, for example.

Leave a Reply

