Photobooks

Last week I looked into different photo books and had a go at Japanese Stab binding in my own time. The day after we were shown by Victoria Lucas in person how to make this book and also a concertina bound book.

After considering my work, I would have ideally liked to have had a book bound like one you would find on the shelf; however, because I have a deadline for next week and limited knowledge I have decided to use Japanese Stab binding for my artefact. I would like it to be 6.5″ by 8.5″ landscape so then it fits snugly in the palm of the viewers hands; therefore there is a metaphor inside a metaphor. In other words the hands in the book have taken death into their own hands and their hands have been placed into the viewers. I would like to have a cover that is delicate to highlight how the argument over suicide is a ‘touchy’ subject.

Leave a Reply

