Here’s to the New Year

Looking back at ‘Before 2011 is through‘ I can now reflect on how far I feel I achieved my targets.

Rest assured, I feel that I know who everyone is, but obviously, I know some better than others. I think the fact that there is a community Facebook group for our class makes it easier for us to make social events so that we are not only seeing one another in contact time. What I feel is great is that there isn’t a negative vibe in the group.

Using film wasn’t anywhere near as scary as I had thought. Although I know this is a pretty typical thing to say from someone who now has experience, it has made me realise that there is no need to worry: practice makes perfect. Rest assured, I know that I need to use the darkroom a lot more to develop more creative techniques. Now, because I love the style from the medium format cameras, over the Christmas break I am going to be working on my ‘Homage to a Precious Object’ project and so in the new year I can bind a ‘Precious Book’ in dedication.

I did struggle for a few weeks to feel comfortable in the new working environment, but as I have now made a friendship group and came in as a pair, I feel more confident to work on my own now.

Overall, the first few months have been extremely beneficial I am looking forward to the New Year. I know that I haven’t contacted enough photographers, and sadly those I have done, are yet to reply.

Here’s to the New Year!

Leave a Reply

