We Will Remember Them

They shall grow not old,
As we that are left grow old
Age shall not weary them
Nor the years condemn
At the going down of the sun
And in the morning
We will remember them.

This warm November day somewhat undermines the austere tone of a time of remembrance. It’s a time where the nation comes to a standstill to join a moment’s silence in memory of those who ‘gave their tomorrow, for our today’.
Living three miles from RAF Coningsby, Woodhall Spa is a special place to celebrate the bravery of those in war with the 617 Squadron Memorial and the Lancaster flypast. Not only this, but I have been part of the march through the village with the Girl Guides for as long as I can remember, many times representing the community in the colour party.

Yet, it wasn’t until I went to the Somme in 2007 that I had an emotional experience from the effects of war. My Nana’s uncle, Victor Sydney Aris, died in Arras in WW1. He was around my age now and it was when a fellow traveller said ‘he was too young to hold a son’ which made me reflect just how short lived some soldiers’ lives are.

I returned to Belgium three years later with an interest in photography. Today, I share with you these images.


One thought on “We Will Remember Them

  1. I dont feel Ive seen all of the angles of this topic the way youve pointed them out. Youre a true star, a rock star man. Youve got so significantly to say and know so significantly about the topic that I feel you ought to just teach a class about it

Leave a Reply

