Greater than the Whole

We were asked to use our analogue knowledge to :

Produce a cumulative portrait of a
structure that can not readily be
portrayed in it’s entirety in one frame


Although we were told that we could do this in digital, I wanted to throw myself into the deep end. So I wanted to see how my film images would come out before using my DSLR. In order to try and get a successful set of images, I didn’t want to make a both technical and creative image as this would have added too much pressure, so I kept my portrait simple.

These images make a diptych. After I processed the film, I used the Nikon 1000 to scan the negatives onto the computer to make a digital file. 

From a first attempt at film, I am very pleased with the results: the creases in the skin are clear and the exposure it not too dramatic

When I was shooting with Mamiya 7 for my ‘Homage to a Precious Object’ I wanted to test the focal length, by this I could focus on my toes and nothing closer. This, however, made me related back to this project and how I had made a fragmented self portrait. Looking at the image, it occurred to me that this is what we see of ourselves. We do not see our own faces naturally, or our neck. Without a lens, we ourselves are greater than the whole to the naked eye. I think this is an important aspect I would like to use in my assignment 1 in my investigation of how I fit into our society.

I took some photographs using my DSLR from around my desk. I look at these objects every day and it’s become part of my social structure. I use the internet to connect to friends and share my photography. I feel this is of importance for my assignment one.

I shot the bottom of my feet: it’s a part of us that we are all aware that we have, but we never look at them, not like how we look at the palms of our hand. How can one begin to consider their place in society if they are not fully aware of themselves: this of course is a visual representation. I did tweak this image in Photoshop to create more definition and how a footprint is like a fingerprint: they are unique. 

Leave a Reply

